USD Chemistry and Biochemistry

We are committed to providing the highest quality teaching and learning environment for our students. We pride ourselves in fostering the growth of creative, enthusiastic and talented students.

 Click Here to visit the USD Chemistry and Biochemistry Department Website

About Professor Iovine

Peter M. Iovine was born in New Brunswick NJ.  The youngest of three boys and the son Mr. and Mrs. Carmine P. Iovine, Peter got his start at Villanova University in the Chemistry & Biochemistry Department.  During his undergraduate years, Professor Iovine worked briefly in the lab of Professor Robert Giuliano and spent several summers interning at American Cyanamid where he synthesized small molecule heterocycles.  In 1994 Dr. Iovine began Ph.D. work at the University of Pennsylvania under the guidance of Professor Michael J. Therien.  His thesis focused on the synthesis and characterization of porphyrinic pi-stacked architectures with the goal to understand the role of pi-stacking in modulating ultrafast electron transfer.  After almost six years in Philadelphia, a cross-country move was in order.  In 2000, Dr. Iovine began a two year post-doctoral position in the laboratory of Professor Julius Rebek Jr. at the Scripps Research Institute.  Working alongside great scientists and inspired by the collaborative atmosphere in the Rebek lab, Professor Iovine investigated the self-assembly of a tetrameric capsule and co-developed synthetic methods related to arylsulfamides.  

In the fall of 2002, Dr. Iovine joined the Chemistry & Biochemistry Department at the University of San Diego (USD).  At USD Professor Iovine has focused on teaching and has grown a highly active research program working exclusively with undergraduates.  Professor Iovine’s research program is interdisciplinary and incorporates elements of  organic chemistry, main group chemistry, materials chemistry, and polymer chemistry. 

  • In 2008 Professor Iovine was awarded the NSF CAREER award. 
  • In 2012 Dr. Iovine was awarded the Henry Dreyfus Teacher Scholar Award.